Skip to content

Horthy Miklós discuta cu generalul Gheorghe Mărdărescu, pe 12 august 1919

Decembrie 4, 2011

„Horthy Miklós: I aimed at creating a barrier from Lake Balaton in the south to the Danube in the north, and to move this to Budapest, but as things were then, this was a diplomatic rather than a military task. Sir George Clerk, the representative sent by the Allies to Hungary, dispatched a British officer to Siófok to inform me that he intended to visit me there. As I was eager to go to Budapest to make contact with the government of Friedrich and meet the Allied representatives and the Rumanian Commander-in-Chief, I proposed that I should call on the chargé d’affaires. Within a few days, I received an invitation from him and travelled by car unmolested straight to Budapest. I asked Sir George Clerk to have the Rumanian advance halted; I told the Rumanian General Mardarescu my intentions and showed him, on the map, the line my troops would occupy.

„And what if we cross that line?” he asked.

„Then we fire,” I replied.”

There were a few minor skirmishes but nothing more serious In Budapest, Iwas staying at the town house of my brother who, before the war, had been in command of a regiment of hussars at Székesfehérvár. After a discussion with Friedrich, the Prime Minister, and supper with Sir George Clerk at the Zichy
Palace, I returned home about midnight, and had the delightful surprise of finding my wife there. The happiness of our reunion was enhanced by the fact that since I had left Kenderes we had had no word of each other. I had heard that there had been some fighting in that region. My wife told me that she had fled with the children in a cart to Debrecen as the thunder of guns and the rattle of machine-guns drew near.
She had at any rate been spared the sight of the second looting of our property, this time by the Rumanians, the first having been by the Bolshevists. All the furniture was smashed, mattresses and feather beds were ripped open in the search for money and valuables. My wife had given our three children, we had lost our eldest sixteen-year-old daughter that spring, into the care of the Catholic priest and had herself travelled on to Budapest in the hope of obtaining some news of me there. After an adventurous journey, she had arrived on my first day in the capital. I was now able to offer her a new home at Siófok.
I myself, however, had frequently to go to Budapest to beg the Military Mission over and over again to persuade the Supreme Council in Paris to agree that the Rumanians should actually withdraw to the line along the Tisza river agreed to by Clemenceau. In these negotiations, I gratefully remember not only the help given me by Sir George Clerk but also the support of Admiral Troubridge, who, as Chairman of the Danube Commission, had moved from Belgrade to Budapest. The Rumanians made difficulties whenever they could in order to have as good a bargaining position as possible at the coming peace conference. Not before mid-November did they evacuate
22 Gen. G. D. Mardarescu (1866-1938).

—ADMIRAL MIKLÓS HORTHY: MEMOIRS Chapter Nine

Counter-Revolution. I am Appointed Minister of War
And Commander-in-Chief

12 august 1919

No comments yet

Lasă un răspuns

